Colorado CHP – CCW Safety Course

Concealed Permit Classes

Colorado CHP / CCW Safety Course

IMPORTANT NOTE: During the COVID pandemic, we are substituting the Intro to Defensive handgun course for this course. Once we get clearance to hold a classroom session again, we’ll offer this class again. The IDH class is an OUTSTANDING CLASS and exceeds the state requirement to obtain a Concealed Permit. Sign up for our IDH classes here

Course number: KTG-200

Course Length: 8 Hours

Skill Level: Beginner

Maximum Class Size: 10

Range Requirement: Yes

Course Description:  The Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) or “Colorado CCW” Safety course is intended for those who wish to obtain a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit “CCW” in the state of Colorado. This is a basic to intermediate course.

This course is not a 3 hour chat and award a certificate course, our firearm instruction is intended to provide you with the most realistic training necessary to safely carry a firearm and defend yourself and your family if necessary. There are ‘cheaper’ courses available in Colorado Springs, but if you are concerned with *how* to defend yourself, the additional cost is well invested.

The extensive safety course covers the following:

  • Firearm Safety
  • Safe and responsible firearm ownership
  • Colorado State law pertaining to firearms and concealed carry
  • Shoot / No Shoot scenarios and use of deadly force
  • Situation Awareness
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of a threat encounter
  • Handgun types, operation, maintenance and safe storage
  • Handgun ammunition types and firearm selection
  • Marksmanship fundamentals and defensive shooting
  • Shooting positions (Standing, Kneeling)
  • Presenting from the holster (from concealment)
  • Clearing malfunctions (Type 1)
  • Special notes: There is a range qualification requirement to successfully pass this course.

Other Information:

  • This course far exceeds the training requirement to obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in Colorado
  • Completion of this course does not grant ability to carry concealed, you must submit application to the Sheriffs Office in your County of residence.
  • Students should supply their own firearm, KTG only has limited firearms available to loan for a small fee.
  • Students must bring a PROPER fitting holster for their firearm.
  • Students must supply their own ammunition for use at the range. Recommended 125 rounds of COMMERCIAL ammunition for the range portion of the course.
Cost: $150.00